How America Changed My Life!


So last summer I did an amazing thing! I decided to step out of the ordinary and live in America for three months!

In November 2015 I went to a Camp America fair in Edinburgh just to see what the buzz was all about. Not knowing that in the summer of 2016 I’d be at a camp which cared for children and adults with special needs. Which FYI is my dream in life! In a little place called Salt Lake City for three months!

I went to America not knowing a single person that I would be working with. At first that scared the living hell out of me. But then I thought ‘I am doing this for the campers and the experience’ and realised that I would make life long friends during this journey as well as finding myself and helping others. 


This was an intense three months but was SOOOO worth it! I have gained so much experience and helped those who, to be honest with you did not have much of their lives left! We helped them become more confident and positive in life and, no matter how hard it was for them, we tried to help them think about other things in life other than their disability.

A lot, and I mean a lot! Of campers have made such a huge impact in my life! They have changed me in a way that I can’t even begin to describe. They have an extra special place in my heart and I will never forget them! 


Take my advice here, don’t EVER let fear take control of your life! Otherwise you’ll miss out on precious opportunities! 

Leave a Reply

